Why I want to make a Lite Brite lamp…

Image

(photo credit to tumblr use, istrose)

What follows is sure to be the most inane post I’ve made here yet, but that’s why it’s already so lovely!

I was browsing around tumblr, as I’m apt to do when I’m too sleepy to be productive, but not quite sleepy enough to doze off, when LO AND BEHOLD, I found this gem.

It should also be mentioned that I like having the occasional conversation with my 5-year-old self. I’m always intrigued by the things that we no longer have in common, but I’m even more interested in the things that never changed. In doing so, I recalled a formative evening…

My clearest recollection of Lite-Brite-ing (and I know I owned one, so the fact that this is my clearest memory surely means something) involves perhaps the first crush of my lackadaisical love-life. Hunter, maybe? Caleb? Forgettable name aside, he was the older brother of one of my little league cheerleader compatriots. A whole TWO years older, to be exact. I was invited to my friend’s house for a sleepover, but I ended up awake long after she had passed out. Her older brother remained awake, however, aglow in the family room, basking in the fluorescent spectrum of a dazzling Lite Brite. I joined him, hesitantly at first.

But he was doing it all wrong.

And he was using one of the pattern sheets, for god’s sake.

And he had no concept of coordinating colors.

Naturally, I took charge and frightened the soft-hearted boy off.

The Lite Brite was far better entertainment.

And that sounds about right to this day…

Leave a comment